RESULTS OF THE CALL FOR NOMINATIONS – Regional Directors & Directors at Large

Horse Council BC (HCBC), in accordance with the organization’s by-laws, is seeking candidates for one position for each of 6 HCBC Regions each for two year terms. As well as seeking candidates for two positions of Directors at Large each for two year terms.

Nominations and elections for regional directors are being held for: the East Kootenays, Thompson Shuswap, Peace River, Vancouver Island North, Vancouver Sunshine Coast and Fraser Valley East Regions electing representatives for a two year term. Click here to view the Regional Map.

October 2, 2019 the Call for Nominations was issued to the HCBC membership.  October 23, 2019 the nomination period closed.

Here are the results from the call for nominations and election process:

Regional Directors for a two-year term (2020):

East Kootenays – Arlene Ridge, re-elected by acclamation

Thompson Shuswap – Carolyn Farris, re-elected by acclamation

Peace River – Jennifer Petley, elected by acclamation

Vancouver Island North – no nominations received

Vancouver Sunshine Coast – Egil Hansen, re-elected by acclamation

Fraser Valley East – two nominations received and was determined by an election by the members of the Fraser Valley East Region

October 31, 2019 Voting Opens using the electronic voting system, November 28, 2019 voting closed at midnight. Elaine Bessuille received the majority of the votes and has been elected Fraser Valley East Regional Director for a two-year term beginning January 1, 2020.

2 Directors at Large for two-year terms (2020 – 2021): 

Alane Lublow elected by acclamation

One vacant Director at Large position

Horse Council British Columbia is a member service organization that collaborates with business, industry and government on behalf of equine welfare, sports, recreation and the individual rider/driver. As a non-profit organization we depend on our volunteer Board of Directors to establish and monitor the Strategic Priorities.

We would like to thanks all the members who let their names stand for positions on our Board of Director and congratulate both new and returning director.